Schulz’s Five RBIs Lead Blinn To 11-5 Win Over Galveston

Schulz’s Five RBIs Lead Blinn To 11-5 Win Over Galveston

GALVESTON, Texas — Behind a career-best five RBIs from Caleb Schulz, the Buccaneers picked up an 11-5 win against Galveston College to even the four-game conference series Thursday night. 

With the win, the Buccaneers improved their overall record to 13-11 and conference record to 8-8.  

Dylan Theut gave us what we needed in an outstanding start, and Eric Oakes was great out of the pen,” said head coach Harvey McIntyre. “Offensively we scored in six of the nine innings and got back on the right side of things.” 

Jett Garcia followed Schulz on offense with three RBIs, while Westley Schields and Nick Wolff each knocked in one run. Ben Hovda led the Buccaneers with three runs, while Schulz, Wolff, and Tyler Russell each scored two. 

Theut was solid in his start for the Buccaneers, striking out 14 and only allowing one run on two hits in seven innings to earn the win. Oakes pitched 1 1/3 hitless innings to contribute to the win. 

Blinn landed on the board early with three runs in the second inning following Schulz’s two-run single and Garcia’s one-run single. The Buccaneers extended their lead to 4-0 in the fourth inning when Wolff scored on a fielder’s choice. Schulz knocked in two more runs with a single for Blinn to lead 6-0 in the sixth inning. 

Galveston arrived on the board with one run in the bottom of the sixth inning, but Blinn answered back with two runs in the top of the seventh when Schields hit a one-run single and Jack Schell scored on a fielder’s choice. Blinn extended its lead to 9-1 when Schulz scored on an error in the eighth inning. 

The Whitecaps rallied for four runs in the bottom of the eighth, but Garcia answered back for the Buccaneers in the ninth inning with a two-run single for the final runs of the game. 

Next, the Buccaneers will finish the conference series against Galveston with a doubleheader on Saturday, April 10, starting at 2 p.m. at Leroy Dreyer Field. 

Blinn has competed in intercollegiate athletics since 1903 and captured 41 NJCAA national championships since 1987.