Three Blinn College Esports Teams Competing in National Tournament

esport arena

Three of Blinn College’s esports teams are competing in the National Association of College Esports playoffs that begin this week, with a fourth hoping to win a spot with a play-in match victory.

The Overwatch and Rocket League teams open national tournament play on Tuesday. Each tournament includes 32 teams.

Overwatch, 8-2 in group play, will take on Shawnee State University. Rocket League, 8-1 in its group, will open the tournament against an opponent to be determined.

Blinn’s undefeated Valorant team (4-0) will play its first-round match Wednesday against the University of Central Missouri. The Smash Bros. Ultimate team (2-2) will have a play-in match, with the date and opponent to be determined.

Blinn’s esports program was started this fall.

“We’re all excited,” coach Aaron Kapiko. “We’re looking to make a deep run across the board. All of the students are working hard.”



Members of Blinn’s Rocket League team are Zach Matthews (Conroe), Jack Barry (Houston), Jason Sansom (Friendswood), and Kyle Jones (Gilmer).

Members of the Overwatch team are Caleb Sheffield (Austin), Ayden Rodriguez (College Station), Andrew Magourik (Bryan), Carter Haber (Aledo, Texas), Juan Cantu (Cedar Hill, Texas), and Jacob Barnes (Bryan).

Valorant team members are Jacob Humphrey (Smithville), Justin Barry (Houston), Irie Ybarra (College Station), Cameron Forde (Copperas Cove), John Hedrick (Kingwood), and Michael Pope (College Station).

Members of the Super Smash Bros. team are Scott McPherson (Forney, Texas), Culley Wright (Bryan), Justin Stanley (Cleburne, Texas), and Bishop Jackson (Conroe).

For more information, visit