On Thursday January 1, 2014 Austin County Commissioner’s Court convened at the Austin County Courthouse to swear in the new Austin County Officials.  First to be sworn in was Austin County Judge Tim Lapham.  He was sworn in by retiring Austin County Judge Carolyn Bilski.  After the swearing in Bilski passed the gavel to Judge Lapham.  She handed him a softball as well. “I will tell you what they told me when I took office,” she held up the gavel, “if this doesn’t work, then use this,” she laughed and held up a softball.

Lapham then took control of the court.  His first order of business as Austin County Judge was to swear in the newly elected officials. Carrie Grigar, County Clerk was sworn in and then in turn swore in the Deputy County Clerk Rebekah Thomas.  Lapham then took over and swore in Bobby Rinn Commissioner, Pct.2. Doug King, Commissioner Pct. 4 was sworn in by Justice of the Peace Dennis King.  This was Dennis King’s last official act Justice of the Peace for Pct. 4.

Lapham then swore in Austin County District Attorney Travis Koehn, District Clerk Sue Murphy, County Treasurer Bryan Haevischer, Justice of the Peace, Pct. 1 Richard Yancey, Justice of the Peace Pct. 3 Cheryl Kollatschny and Justice of the Peace Pct. 4 Bernice Burger.

County Court at Law Judge Dan Leedy and Justice of the Peace Pct. 2 Wilfred Krause were not present to be sworn in.  Judge Lapham then thanked everyone that came in spite of the weather and adjourned the court.