No. 14 Blinn Women’s Golf Places 13th At Nationals

No. 14 Blinn Women’s Golf Places 13th At Nationals

ORMOND BEACH, Fla. — The No. 14 Blinn College women’s golf team placed 13th out of 19 teams in the NJCAA Women’s Golf Championship at Plantation Bay Golf and Country Club Thursday.

Blinn posted team scores of 374, 374, 363, 360 for a four-round total of 1,471. No. 1 Seminole State College won the tournament with a four-round total of 1,198.

“I thought the women’s team had a great year and making nationals in our first full year as a golf program is wonderful,” head coach David Johnson said. “The women’s team improved their scores in each of the last two rounds which was great. The future looks bright with four members of the team returning next year.”

Cheyenne Sowda tied for 25th to lead the Buccaneers after shooting rounds of 84, 86, 85, and 82 for a four-round total of 337. Madeline Goad placed 46th after shooting rounds of 97, 85, 88, and 86 for a four-round total of 356.

“Playing in the national championship is something I will never forget and I am so proud of my team for the way they performed,” Sowda said. “I want to thank Coach David Johnson and Coach Katie Johnston for both believing in me no matter what. Blinn has been an amazing experience for me and I am so sad to say goodbye to this chapter in my life, but excited for the future.”

Leyah Wilson shot rounds of 105, 99, 90, and 94 to claim 60th place, while Katelyn Foster shot rounds of 88, 104, and a pair of 100s to place 61st. Alexis Graham placed 67th with rounds of 105, 108, 105, and 98.

“Making it to nationals in our first full year as a program is amazing and the women’s team fought each day they played,” assistant coach Katie Johnston said. “They really got into the rhythm of things the third and fourth day, and finishing 13th in our first national tournament is a great accomplishment. I am super proud of these ladies and can’t wait to see what the future holds for the program.”

Blinn has competed in intercollegiate athletics since 1903 and captured 42 NJCAA national championships since 1987.