Five Blinn Athletic Programs Named 2019-20 NJCAA Academic Teams of the Year

Blinn College District

The NJCAA has recognized the Blinn College baseball, softball, volleyball, women’s basketball, and women’s soccer teams for academic achievement.

All five teams were named 2019-2020 NJCAA Academic Teams of the Year in the respective sports after maintaining a team grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 or better throughout the academic year.

“We congratulate our student-athletes, their coaches, and our academic support staff for this exemplary academic achievement,” said Scott Schumacher, athletic director. “To have five teams recognized as Academic Teams of the Year shows the commitment our student-athletes and their coaches have to academics and is a great source of pride for the athletic department.”

The softball team posted a 3.35 GPA, the women’s basketball team posted a 3.25 GPA, the baseball team posted a 3.24 GPA, the volleyball team posted a 3.21 GPA, and the women’s soccer team posted a 3.15 GPA. In addition, 44 Blinn athletes were named to the NJCAA All-Academic team for maintaining a GPA of 3.60 or higher.

Hailey Atwood (women’s basketball), Gabriela Bosquez (women’s basketball), Patrick Hail (baseball), Sierra Jameson (women’s golf), Lindy Jenkins (women’s soccer), Emily Murphy (softball), Renna Toomey (softball), Ethan Unger (men’s soccer) were named to the first team with perfect 4.0 GPAs, Rachel Barnett (volleyball), Brooke Borden (volleyball), Barrett Cangelosi (men’s golf), Hope Hillhouse (women’s soccer), Giulia Hortelan (volleyball), AJ Irvin (baseball), Jocelynn Lausell (women’s soccer), Jannell Medellin (women’s soccer), Kajol Prasad (women’s soccer), Jessica Soders (women’s basketball), Dalton Stevenson (baseball) and  Michael Strout (men’s golf) were named second-team All-Academic for posting GPAs between 3.80 and 3.99.



Alex Bowman (women’s basketball), Cole Brown (baseball), Pedro Castro (men’s basketball), Alyssa Cisneros (women’s soccer), Emelyn Coussou (softball), Mayela Fernandez (softball), Keana Flores (women’s soccer), Paige Havel (volleyball), Preston Hoffart (baseball), Jace Hutchins (baseball), Tristan Ikpe (men’s basketball), Gavin LaBruyere (baseball), Rodrigo Marquez (men’s soccer), Dillon Pawlik (baseball), Kaitlyn Pollard (volleyball), Olivia Porter (women’s soccer), Jack Schell (baseball), Riley Simmons (men’s golf), Dillon Smith (baseball), Jordyn Smith (softball), Italie Speziale (softball), Nicholas Statz (men’s basketball), Dylan Theut (baseball), and Chloe Woodward (softball) were named to the third team for maintaining a GPAs between 3.60 and 3.79.

Blinn has competed in intercollegiate athletics since 1903 and captured 41 NJCAA national championships since 1987. For more information, visit