The Faith Academy Awards Banquet for High School Academic and Athletic accomplishments was held on Monday evening, May 16. The banquet was catered by Yani’s in Bellville. Senior Logan Matuska welcomed everyone in attendance and gave the opening prayer. Mrs. Stacy Woodley was the Master of Ceremonies and first called on Ms. Sarah Goodman from the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center to present a scholarship to senior Adelaide Kuespert for $500.

The ACSI Distinguished Christian High School Student Award is given to students for their achievements in one or more categories of Academics, Athletics, Christian Service, Fine Arts and Leadership. The recipients are as follows: sophomores Summer Bright, Renee DeVoke, Noah Figueroa, Anna Froehlich, Kathleen Gonzales, Presley Hardin, Alyza Marcotte, Crystal Pitt, Josephine Potter, Skyler Pyka, Kennedy Thumann, Noelle Walker, juniors Beck Briggs, Joshua Bright, Austin Browning, Aryadna Castillo, Madison Halverson, Chesney Johnston, Neil Johnston, Aiden Looney, Andrew Mathis, Hannah McClure, Caden Owens, Ella Polston, John Poorman, Jacob Wallace, seniors Emily Barnett, Jayci Byler, Nathan Figueroa, Logan Matuska and Ethan McMakin. The following students achieved all five of the categories: Mauricio Cano, Eli Kubicek, Adelaide Kuespert, Rachel Kuespert, and Jonah Taake.

Four young men will represent Faith Academy this summer for a week at the American Legion Texas Boys State in Austin which is a participatory program where each student becomes a part of the operation of his local, county and state government. The four include Neil Johnston, Eli Kubicek, Aiden Looney and Jonah Taake.

One young lady will attend the American Legion Auxillary Bluebonnet Girls State Leadership Training for one week at Texas Lutheran University. It is a mythical 51st where participants or “citizens” organize their own city, county, and state governments.

The next recognition went to students who were named to the All A or A-B Honor Roll all year and received the Presidential Academic Excellence Certificate and pin:  Cash Eckermann, Lily Kuespert, Laynie Spitzer, Andrew Stolz, Travis Woodley, Summer Bright, Skyler Pyka, Chesney Johnston, Eli Kubick, Rachel Kuespert, Andrew Mathis, Hannah McClure, Jonah Taake, Mauricio Cano, Nathan Figueroa, Addie Kuespert, and Logan Matuska. Faith Academy had one high school student who had perfect attendance all year-Skyler Pyka.

The Blue and Gold Award is voted on by the faculty and is based on the Christian character that is exhibited by the students. The winners were Adelaide Kuespert and Mauricio Cano. The Servants Heart Award, also voted on by the faculty, is based on the recipient’s willingness to offer assistance to a teacher without being asked, helping fellow classmates with notes of assignments, or assisting with chores in and/or out of the classroom. The winners are Chesney Johnston and Ethan McMakin.

The following students received top academic awards:

Lily Kuespert, Fr: Geometry, World Geography, Honors English I, Bible I and Foreign Language I.

Skyler Pyka, So: Bible II, World History, Honors English II, AG Applied Science

Ethan McMakin, Sr: Constitution, Government, Economics

Summer Bright, So: Bible II, World History, Chemistry, Algebra II, Foreign Language II, Ag I

Hanna McClure, Jr: US History, Algebra II

Maddie Halverson, Jr: Broadcast Journalism

Nathan Figueroa, Sr: Physics, Calculus

Logan Matuska, Sr: Bible IV, Economics

Georgia Johnson, Fr: Algebra I

Eli Kubicek, Jr: Pre-Calculus, Earth Science, Art

Chesney Johnson, Jr: Floral Design

Mauricio Cano, Sr: Mauricio Cano

Rachel Kuespert, Jr: English III, Pre-Calculus, Bible III

Laynie Spitzer, Fr: Biology

Emily Barnett, Sr: Career’s, English IV

Andrew Stolz, Fr: Ag I

Jonah Taake, Jr: Earth Sciences, Dual Credit History, Bible III, Pre-Calculus

Noelle Walker, So: Speech

Joshua Bright, Jr: English III

Ella Polston, Jr: English III

Adelaide Kuespert, Sr: Bible IV, Economics, AP English IV

The Honor Graduates were announced and presented with their honor cords to wear at graduation. Those students were Jayci Byler, Mauricio Cano, Micah Hames, Adelaide Kuespert, Nathan Figueroa, Logan Matuska and Ethan McMakin.

In concluding the Academic portion of the Mauricio Cano was named the 2022 Class Salutatorian, presented with two honor cords and the Co-Valedictorians are Adelaide Kuespert and Nathan Figueroa, both receiving three honor cords.

Opening up the presentation of the Varsity Athletic Awards was cheer coach Mari Swierkowski. Her two team awards went to Skyler Pyka for Heart of the Knight, Most Spirited to Jayci Byler and Ja’Kasia Ragston for Most Dedicated.

Faith Academy’s track coach, Ann Howarth, Coach “Howie”, presented her team awards as follows: Most Improved to Elizabeth Walker, Most Committed to Noah Figueroa, Most Determined to Joshua Bright, Most Dedicated to Nathan Figueroa, Most Perseverant to Beck Briggs and Heart of the Knight to Luke Wicklein.

Varsity Boys basketball coach, Joe Riley, presented the following team awards: Jonah Taake, Best Offense, Travis Woodley, Best Defense, John Poorman, Most Improved, Mauricio Cano, Heart of the Knight and MVP to Nathan Figueroa.

David Sobey, Varsity Girls Basketball Coach presented the Most Hustle award to Lydia Moses, Best Defense to Presley Hardin, Best Offense to Ja’Kasia Ragston, Heart of the Knight to Rachel Kuespert and MVP to Adelaide Kuespert. Adelaide also took home the TAIAO All-State Tournament Award.

Kenneth Woodley, Varsity Baseball coach, presented Most Improved to Carter Findeisen, Best Offense to John Poorman, Best Defense to Caden Owens, Heart of the Knight to Travis Woodley and MVP to Cash Eckermann. Travis Woodley also received the TAIAO All-State Tournament award.

Three special awards concluded our Faith Academy Awards Banquet. The first, in memory of our friend, J. D. Sabrsula, the J. D. Sabrsula Scholarship, established by his wife Jackie and daughter Sharon Sue, is awarded to a Faith Academy athlete who exhibited excellence on the field, on the court, in the classroom and in the community. The recipient, Mauricio Cano received a $300 scholarship.

The second is a new scholarship in J. D.’s name which is the Coach Sab Athletic Scholarship, established by daughters Jo Dean and Tammy, for an athlete who exhibits the qualities found in the scripture Philippians 3:14, “I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” This was Coach Sabs favorite verse and he lived by it daily. The recipient was Adelaide Kuespert receiving $200.

And last but not least was the Reesa Ueckert Parent Award, a.k.a. RUPA, which is awarded to a parent or couple who goes over and beyond to give of themselves whenever and wherever needed. The couple who received the award was Mauricio and Suzi Cano.


View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Austin County News Online (@acnewsonline)


View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Austin County News Online (@acnewsonline)